Ohio State nav bar

Molecular Genetics DEI Committee

The Molecular Genetics Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

Mission of the DEI Committee

The committee is a group of faculty, staff, and students dedicated to promoting and sustaining an inclusive environment by respecting and welcoming all backgrounds, perspectives, and ideas. We uphold that academic excellence in teaching, research, and service is achieved when a community of scholars is diverse, equitable, and inclusive. We strive to create a thriving community where:

  • Every member at every level in the department feels welcome, valued, and included, and can contribute to their full potential;
  • Diverse perspectives are actively cultivated through recruitment and retention efforts;
  • The departmental climate fosters inclusivity and promotes equity and justice;
  • The departmental demographic at all levels reflects the rich diversity of our larger society;
  • The principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion are embedded into all aspects of departmental research, teaching, and service.

DEI Committee Composition and Duties

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee is composed of a Chair (a tenure track member of the MOLGEN faculty appointed by the Department Chair), two additional MOLGEN faculty members on the tenure, teaching, or research track, one staff member (a department, teaching, or research staff member, or postdoctoral fellow), one graduate student, and one undergraduate student. The staff and student members serve one-year terms and are elected by their respective constituencies. The MOLGEN Vice Chair for Research and DEI serves on the DEI committee for the duration of their administrative appointment. The two other faculty members are appointed by the Department Chair and serve two-year terms, with staggered appointments. Individual responsibilities of each committee member are to: 1) attend regular DEI committee meetings (minimum of 4 meetings are held per year), 2) attend at least one DEI-relevant conference or training session per year and report back to the committee, and 3) assume additional committee duties appropriate to their academic appointment.

The Duties of the DEI Committee are to:

  • Review Department, College and University rules and procedures concerning teaching, training, mentoring, recruitment, promotion, retention, and advancement of underrepresented and underserved individuals at all academic levels;
  • Suggest changes to departmental policies, procedures, and/or practices that forward the DEI committee mission;
  • With the Department Chair, promote an inclusive environment and a departmental demographic that reflects the diversity of our larger society;
  • With the Department Chair, secure and maintain funding to financially support departmental DEI initiatives.

2023-2024 DEI Committee Members

Past Committees

2022-2023 DEI Committee Members

  • Sharon Amacher (Committee chair), Faculty
  • Christin Burd, Faculty
  • Gina Nostramo, Research Associate
  • Hay-Oak Park, Faculty
  • Priscila Rodríguez García, Graduate student
  • Katie Tucker, Undergraduate student