Seminars

Various OSU Seminar Series

Molecular Genetics Seminar Schedule

During Fall 2019, MolGen seminars are Thursdays at 4:10 pm unless otherwise noted.
Beginning Spring 2020, MolGen seminars will switch to Wednesdays at 4:10 pm.


Wednesday, August 14, 2019 @ 9:00 am
Room 684, Biological Sciences Building
Dissertation Defense Seminar
Stevin Wilson, Dept of Molecular Genetics
"Towards a Greater Understanding Of Zinc Homeostasis Using Loz1 from the Fission Yeast"
Mentored by Dr. Amanda Bird


Thursday, September 5, 2019 @ 4:10 pm
Room 155, Jennings Hall
Dr. Christin Burd, Dept of Molecular Genetics
"Molecular insights into melanoma etiology and therapeutic efficacy"
Host: Molecular Genetics (Wharton)


Thursday, September 19, 2019 @ 4:10 pm
Room 155, Jennings Hall
Dr. JC Jang, Dept of Horticulture and Crop Science
"P-body dynamics and mRNA regulation in plants"
Host: Molecular Genetics (Mackey)


Thursday, October 17, 2019 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBD
Dr. Elizabeth Haswell, Washington University
"Expanding without Exploding: Measuring and Modeling the Role of Mechanosensitive Ion Channels during Cell Swelling"
Host: Molecular Genetics (Dobritsa)


Tuesday, October 22, 2019 @ 11:30 am
Adolph E. Waller Memorial Lecture (Lay Lecture)
Room 200, Campbell Hall; reception following lecture in the Campbell Hall Gas Lounge
Dr. Pamela Ronald, University of California Davis
"Serving up Science: Plant Genetics and the Future of Food"
Host: Molecular Genetics Graduate Students


Wednesday, October 23, 2019 @ 10:00 am
Adolph E. Waller Memorial Lecture (Scientific Lecture)

Room 355, Jennings Hall; reception following lecture in Jennings Lobby
Dr. Pamela Ronald, University of California Davis
"The Plant Immune Response"
Host: Molecular Genetics Graduate Students


Thursday, October 31, 2019 @ 4:10 pm
Room 155, Jennings Hall
Dr. Arthur Burghes, Dept of Biological Chemistry and Pharmacology
"Spinal Muscular Atrophy: from gene to therapy"
Host: Molecular Genetics (Amacher)


Thursday, November 14, 2019 @ 4:10 pm
Room 155, Jennings Hall
Dr. Aman Husbands, Dept of Molecular Genetics
"Complex yet reproducible: investigating the paradoxical nature of development"
Host: Molecular Genetics (Amacher)


Wednesday, January 8, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
Dr. Vidu Garg, Director of the Center from Cardiovascular Research, Nationwide Children's Hospital
Title TBA
Host: Molecular Genetics (Cole)


Wednesday, January 15, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
Dr. Andrea Gschwend, Dept of Horticulture and Crop Science
Title TBA
Host: Molecular Genetics 


Wednesday, January 22, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
Dr. Ruben Petreaca, Dept of Molecular Genetics
Title TBA
Host: Molecular Genetics (Husbands)

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
Dr. Wayne Miles, Dept of Molecular Genetics
Title TBA
Host: Molecular Genetics (Husbands)


Wednesday, February 26, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
Dr. Venkat Gopalan, Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics (Cole)
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Biao Ding Memorial Lecture

Room TBA
Dr. Peter Nagy, University of Kentucky
Title TBA
Hosts: David Bisaro and Jian-Qiu Wu


Wednesday, April 1, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
4th Year Graduate Student Seminar
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics


Wednesday, April 8, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
4th Year Graduate Student Seminar
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics


Wednesday, April 15, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
4th Year Graduate Student Seminar
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics

Wednesday, April 22, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
4th Year Graduate Student Seminar
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics

Wednesday, April 29, 2020 @ 4:10 pm
Room TBA
4th Year Graduate Student Seminar
Title TBA
Host, Molecular Genetics

 

 

0