Summer-Fall 2011 Undergraduate Awards/Fellowships

September 26, 2011

Justin Tossey (Doseff lab) was awarded the American Heart Association undergraduate research fellowship.

The following students received NMS presentation awards:

  • Jennifer Bosse - MG major working with Keith Slotkin. Jennifer will join the MCDB graduate program next fall. 
  • Matthew Tegowski - PCMB major working with Rebecca Lamb. Matt will matriculate in the UNC graduate program this fall.
  • Justin Tossey - Justin is a micro major conducting undergraduate research with Andrea Doseff

Congratulations to the 2011 Pelotonia Undergraduate Scholarship Awardees

  • Veda Chokshi - Molecular Genetics
 - The Role of E2F7 and E2F8 in Cell Cycle Control and Tumorigenesis (Leone lab)
  • Ryan Dixon
 - Chemistry
 - Visualizing the dynamic localization and behavior of the Ras/MAPK pathway in germline apoptosis of C .elegans (Chamberlin lab)
  • Benjamin Kaumeyer
 - Biochemistry
 - Identification of cell specific target genes for a Pax transcription factor in C. elegans (Chamberlin lab)
  • Jonathan Lee
 - Molecular Genetics -
 A Genome-wide Screening of Drosophila melanogaster to Identify Endoreduplication-specific Factors (Asano lab)
  • Melissa Mauntel - Molecular Genetics & International Studies
 - AKT-1 Independent Functions of Tumor Suppressor PTEN (Leone lab)
  • Carlee Schaefer - Molecular Genetics - Use and Optimization of TAP-tagged Herpesvirus Protein to Identify Novel Host Protein Interactions (Parris lab)
  • Nandini Sharma
 - Molecular Genetics
 - The Role of PKCβ in Breast Cancer Progression (Ostrowski lab)
  • Breonna Slocum
 - Microbiology & Spanish
 - Establishing the Link between Pax Transcription Factors and Acyl-CoA Synthetase in Cancer Biology (Chamberlin lab)